'Levels' Explained
AEW logo slimline white colourWeb

Levels Explained

When you search for a course you may see references to the level of qualification or prior levels required on entry. The table below maps the qualification type to the levels (based on the National Qualifications Framework).

Qualification Levels

Level Qualification
8 Specialist qualifications such as PhDs
7 Masters degrees, postgraduate certificates, postgraduate diplomas
6 Bachelor’s degrees (e.g. BA or BSc)
5 Foundation degrees, HNDs, Level 5 diplomas
4 HNCs, Level 4 diplomas
3 A-Levels, Level 3 NVQs, Level 3 certificates
2 GCSE grade A*-C, Level 2 NVQs, Level 2 diplomas
1 GCSE grade D-G, Level 1 certificates
Entry Entry level courses to develop skills and increase confidence

Find a course
Adult Education Wolverhampton offer a huge range of courses. Find the right course for you with our online course search.